The Untold Story

Pulse: The Untold Story, an Audible Original by journalist Trevor Aaronson, investigates the Pulse nightclub shooting and raises startling questions about the FBI’s culpability.

In a gay nightclub in Orlando on June 12, 2016, Omar Mateen murdered 49 people and wounded 53 others. The attack was the deadliest act of violence against the LGBTQIA+ community in US history and the deadliest terrorist attack in the United States since 9/11.

But there’s a story you haven’t heard. The FBI had a secret history with Omar Mateen and his father. To obscure that history, the FBI pushed a false story that the media dutifully carried—that the attacker was a secretly gay Islamist extremist who had chosen to target Pulse and planned the attack for weeks.

Through a relentless and thorough investigation, Aaronson uncovers the volatile relationship between Mateen and his father and how their troubled interactions with the FBI lead to a disturbing final question: Could the FBI have prevented the massacre?

About Trevor Aaronson


Trevor Aaronson is the author of The Terror Factory: Inside the FBI’s Manufactured War on Terrorism and the creator and host of documentary podcasts including “Alphabet Boys” and “American ISIS.”


Alphabet Boys

Season One: Trojan Hearse

Alphabet Boys reveals the secret investigations of the FBI, DEA, ATF, and other alphabet agencies. Hosted by journalist Trevor Aaronson, Alphabet Boys exposes secret undercover recordings that the government never wanted the public to hear. We explore cases that are both dangerous and absurd in order to ask this question: Are America’s top cops catching criminals — or creating them?

Season one is Trojan Hearse. During the rage-filled summer of 2020, a mysterious, cigar-smoking antifa warrior rolled into town. He wore military fatigues, spoke with a raspy voice, and drove a hearse filled with guns. He also kept a very big secret.

You can read more about Alphabet Boys: Trojan Hearse in The Intercept, The Daily Beast, Democracy Now!, The Guardian, and Reason.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top